Transitioning into College Life

Written by freshman oufielder Alaina Montgomery

As a college freshman playing a Division I sport, I face challenge on a daily basis. Balancing the demands of my academic schedule with athletic practices has been more arduous than I anticipated. In a short time, I have come to realize, hard work and discipline does come with rewards.  

 

Like an average college student, I go to class, complete reading assignments, do homework and write papers, but I also train at various times throughout the day. Required freshman study hours and tutoring sessions complete my schedule. With all of this, getting enough sleep can be challenging. As the semester has progressed, I have learned to make adjustments to my routine which has relieved some of the pressure I feel due to my full schedule. Forgoing social activities on the weekends in favor of completing assignments in advance and extra studying has created peer pressure. Understanding priorities and knowing that my individual goals are my focus and most important to me has kept me line.

 

The rewarding aspect of college for me has been the way our softball training has sharpened my athletic skills. Coach Mac has put together a rigorous practice schedule that includes running, weight lifting, yoga, speed and agility, individual training and team play. With this level of training I am in the ultimate physical condition of my softball career to date as probably all my teammates are. This level of athleticism of our team should have an immediate impact on the upcoming season.

Leave a Reply

