Where Your Treasure Is, There Will Your Heart Be Also ~By: Kiki Saveriano #24

Now that the team is preparing for my second season here as a Husky, I am beginning to understand the phrase, “time flies when you’re having fun”. Personally it has been hard for me to comprehend how I could already be more than halfway done with my sophomore year at school because it seems like not too long ago I was getting to know the girls that I now consider not only my friends, but my family. It feels as if just yesterday Britt (who I now consider my better half) and I were awkwardly walking around campus on our first day at school looking for our classes trying so hard to start conversation about anything and everything trying to fill the silence. Needless to say there is rarely silence that has needed filling since.

Another fond memory that us sophomores constantly revisit is our first impressions of each other. I knew Britt because we played together our sophomore year of high school together on a tournament team but two years had passed and our only encounter since involved an agreement to room together and a slightly uncomfortable high five. Later Britt introduced me to Kim at a tournament because they played together their senior year, but again, it was a very brief encounter. In our first week together Kim would be the only one that would talk during our “get to know ya” sessions in her room over Mario Party on her Nintendo 64. The first time Dana and I met was when she moved in. I will never forget my mother looking at me after I came back from using the bathroom and saying, “that’s Dana, right? She just carried three crates of perfume into her room…” Jess I knew nothing about despite great effort to stalk her on facebook. Britt and I decided to take a clumsy stand and go introduce ourselves. When she opened the door she was wearing a scream-o band t-shirt, had an industrial piercing that covered half her ear, and was putting up a poster that, well, lets just say I giggled uncomfortably when I saw it.

That night being the good teammates that they are, everyone was invited to an apartment and I met the rest of the team, and although my introverted personality may have initially prohibited me from being immediately open with everyone, I knew I wanted to be part of their clear love for each other. Every single teammate of the team has helped me in some way to become a better person and a better softball player. Almost a year and a half has passed since our first day together and one day hasn’t passed since where I haven’t talked to at least one of them.

Despite our evidently different personalities, we all grew very close through hard work and dedication to our team. Going into my first year was perhaps the most stressful and comfort-zone-shattering time of my life, but because I knew I had such a close support system of friends my transition into a division 1 softball player went smoothly. And going into our second year together not only does our chemistry grow, but so does our team confidence. The new freshman class has come in seamlessly and I feel nothing but that same sense of closeness to everyone on the team. I could not ask for better teammates to place my trust with.

So going into this year has been exciting and nerve racking, because although last year was memorable and fun, there is always room to improve and grow as a team and an individual player. And to quote a movie that I recently watched, “the bad news is that time flies, the good news is that you’re the pilot”.

 

Leave a Reply

